ūüí¨ Smartcat Community
Becky

Do you call yourself a freelancer?

I recently came across an interesting blog post by Laura Belgray explaining why she doesn't refer to herself as a freelancer. She's a copywriter, not a translator, but I think it applies to our world too. Actually, I think it applies to any professional working solo.

In her own words, here's why she doesn't use the word "freelancer":

Because it sounds poor. Poor, and desperate.

It might be a good word for SEO.  But in my experience, the second you say you’re a freelancer, people think you’ll take any scraps, for any pay.

I want to say she's exaggerating a little, but then I think how much better "I run a translation business" sounds than "I am a freelance translator". It shouldn't, but it does. Why do freelancers have such a bad rep? Is it because we're willing to accept lower prices than "traditional businesses"? Is it because people associate freelancing with making some extra cash on the side?

Whatever the reasons, I find myself using the term less and less with clients as I grow my business and I think that's the best option for me. What about you? Do you call yourself a freelancer?

Here's Laura Belgray's blog post: http://talkingshrimp.com/f-word-freelancer

• Thumbs up 1
  • Super! 1

That's a very good point to discuss.

Hum... Typically I haven't had any problems calling myself a freelancer. It does carry some misconceptions depending on where you are at and who you're talking to though. In some countries the freelancing style is quite common and widespread, people don't have difficulties understanding the lifestyle or workflow.